In a pious country like India, the pilgrimage is one of the pillars of the faith. Every believer makes at least one of the subcontinent’s major pilgrimages in his or her lifetime. There are tens of thousands of pilgrimage centres in India. Most pilgrimages lead to a particular place – a temple, sacred river, church, gumpa or mosque – or make a tour round several holy places.

Amarnath | Kumbha Mela | Jyotir-Lingams | Shakti Peetha | Sapta Puri | Char Dham | Pancha Bhoota Sthalas |

La lingam de glaceAmarnath

During the month of Shravan (July-August), tens of thousands of Hindus undertake an arduous 50km pilgrimage through the Himalayas to worship a very special symbol of Shiva: an ice lingam that forms each year in a cave at the end of the Lidder Valley in Kashmir…


kumbh mela
Kumbha Mela

La Kumbha Mela est probablement le plus grand pèlerinage au monde, rassemblant jusqu’à 100 millions de personnes en un même lieu, là où les eaux sacrées de quatre villes se trouvent. Littéralement traduit par la «fête de la cruche», ce pèlerinage hindou est organisé quatre fois tous les 12 ans, à tour de rôle, dans les villes saintes d’Allahabad ou Prayag (Uttar Pradesh), Haridwar (Uttarankand), Ujjain (Madhya Pradesh) et Nashik (Maharashtra)…



The lingam is the symbol of the Hindu god Shiva. There are numerous lingams throughout India, but the twelve Jyotirlingams or ‘lingams of light’ are the holiest and most worshipped of all. Jyoti means ‘light’ and lingam means ‘mark’ or ‘sign’. According to Hindu tradition, the Jyotirlingams pilgrimage washed off bad karma and makes the soul and body pure…


shaktismShakti Peetha

The Shakti Peethas are places (peetha) of worship dedicated to Shakti. Shakti means ‘power’ or ‘energy’. It is often associated with the feminine principal and personified by Devi, Hinduism’s primordial goddess.. There are Shakti Peethas scattered all over India. The exact number is uncertain but some say there are 52 in all. Eighteen are unanimously accepted as Maha Shakti Peethas. Four Shakti Peethas, called Adi Shakti Peethas, are considered the most sacred of all the Peethas…


dwarkaSapta Puri

To Hindus, the Sapta Puris are the seven holiest cities in India. Sapta means ‘seven’ and puri means ‘town’. These seven holy cities are also called the Sapta Moksha Puris, the ‘seven cities of liberation’ or the Sapta Tirtha, ‘seven places of pilgrimage’. It is generally believed that visiting these cities puts an end to the cycle of deaths and rebirths (reincarnation) and brings about moksha, ‘liberation’…


gangotriChar Dham

Char Dham, meaning ‘four abodes’, is the pilgrimage circuit around the four most revered pilgrimage sites in all India. Hindus believe that a pilgrimage or yatra around the Char Dham cities opens the way to moksha, liberation from the cycle of deaths and rebirths. They also think that every believer should try to visit each of these places at least once in their life…


chidambaramPancha Bhoota Sthalas

The “Pancha Bhoota Sthalas” refers to the five temples dedicated to the Hindu god Shiva, each of these temples representing the five prime elements of nature; water, air, ether, fire and earth. “Pancha” means five, “Bhoota”, elements and “Sthalas”, place. These temples are all located in the South of India, four in Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh…


In the footsteps of Lord Buddha in India

From his birth until his nirvana, Buddha visited several cities in North India spreading his message of the Middle Way. I invite you to follow in the footsteps of Buddha over more than 1000 km in northern India and Nepal…