Pushkar Mela, la grande foire aux chameaux du Rajasthan

Une fois par an, lors de Kartik Purnima, la pleine lune du mois lunaire hindou de Kartik (Octobre – Novembre), des milliers de pèlerins affluent sur les rives du lac sacré de Pushkar pour rendre hommage au dieu Brahma. Cette date marque aussi le début de la ‘Pushkar Camel fair’ ou ‘Pushkar Mela’, l’une des plus grandes foires aux chameaux du monde. L’évènement, haut en couleurs, attire de nombreux touristes ainsi que des photographes du monde entier.

camel-fair-pushkar chameaux

Les chameliers parcourent parfois des centaines de kilomètres à pied avec leur troupeau

La foire approche. Sur les routes menant à Pushkar, les chameliers entourés de leur troupeau pressent le pas malgré la fatigue, certains ont parcouru des centaines de kilomètres à pied.

Ils se rassemblent sur la grande esplanade à l’ouest de Pushkar dans des tentes en toile qui leur serviront de maison pendant un mois.

camel-fair-pushkar chameaux

Les chameliers s’installent dans des tentes tout autour de Pushkar

Ici sont vendus ou échangés plus de 20 000 chameaux, ce qui fait sûrement de Pushkar une des plus grande foire aux chameaux du monde. Bien que moins importantes, des ventes d’autres bestiaux ont lieu : moutons, chèvres et chevaux du Rajasthan.

Le Marwari, le cheval des Maharajas
camel-fair-pushkar chameaux marwari

Chevaux Marwaris à la foire de Pushkar

La foire de Pushkar présente différentes races de chevaux dont la fameuse race Marwari. Le Marwari est une des cinq races indigènes de l’Inde ; il est originaire de la région du Marwar au Rajasthan, d’où il tire son nom. Le Marwari est un croisement entre des poneys autochtones rustiques et le cheval arabe.


La particularité du cheval Marwari sont ses oreilles incurvées vers l’intérieur, en forme de croissant de lune, une caractéristique unique chez les équidés.

pushkar-mela

Un cheval Marwari blanc exécutant des pas de danse

Les Rathores, chefs rajpoutes de la région du Marwar ont été les premiers à élever les Marwaris, à partir du 12e siècle. Les chevaux ont ensuite été utilisés dans la cavalerie, le Marwari étant connu pour son endurance et sa souplesse de caractère.


‘Chetak’, la monture du Maharana d’Udaipur (Udai Singh Pratap), est sûrement le cheval Marwari le plus célèbre de l’Inde. Il est honoré dans tout le Rajasthan pour sa bravoure et sa loyauté.

Lors de la sanglante bataille d’Haldighati qui opposa les forces armées rajpoutes et mogholes, Chetak sauva son maître alors que la défense d’un éléphant avait déchiré l’une de ses pattes arrière. Le vaillant cheval, loin d’abandonner, continua à avancer sur trois pattes et mit à l’abri le Maharana Pratap blessé, avant de s’effondrer.

Le Maharana Pratap sur sa monture ‘Chetak’ lors de La bataille d’Halgadi opposant les armées rajpoutes et mogholes

De nos jours, le cheval Marwari est surtout utilisé comme cheval d’apparat lors de festivités variées : Paré de bijoux, il est la fière monture du fiancé qui vient chercher sa future épouse. Il est aussi le cheval danseur des foires et festivals du Rajasthan.

camel-fair-pushkar chameaux

Concours de la plus longue moustache

La foire de Pushkar est également l’occasion de festivités folkloriques typiques du Rajasthan comme les concours de décoration et tatouages de chameaux, de la plus longue moustache ou les courses de chameaux et chevaux.

Le soir, les festivaliers se retrouvent sur les rives du lac de Pushkar où sont donnés de beaux concerts de musique traditionnelle.

camel-fair-pushkar chameaux

Un chameau décoré lors de la foire de Pushkar


Laissez un commentaire :)

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.

Pushkar Camel Fair

Once a year, at Kartik Purnima, the full moon in the October-November lunar month, there are festivities in honour of the god Brahma. Thousands of pilgrims come to make offerings at the sacred lake in Pushkar and to pray at Jagatpita temple. This is also the occasion for one of the biggest livestock fairs in India: the famous Pushkar Camel Fair or Pushkar Mela, which attracts flocks of tourists and photographers from all over the world.

Some camel drivers walk more than 100 km to attend the cattle fair of Pushkar

The date of the fair is approaching. Weary camel drivers hurry their herds along the roads towards Pushkar. Some have walked for hundreds of miles. They gather on Pushkar’s great dusty esplanade and put up the tents where they will live for the next month.

Preparation of the tea with camel milk
Pushkar Camel Fair is one of the largest in the world

Here the camel drivers will sell or exchange more than 20,000 camels; Pushkar is one of the biggest camel fair in the world.

Although less important, sales of other livestock take place: sheep, goats and horses from Rajasthan including the famous “Marwari”.

Camel Gossipings 🙂

The Marwari horse


Marwaris horses at the Pushkar fair

The Pushkar fair shows different breeds of horses including the reputed Marwari breed. The Marwari horse is one of the five native breeds of India; it originates from the Marwar region of Rajasthan, from which it takes his name. The Marwari is a cross between hardy native ponies and the Arabian horse brought during the Mughal invasions.

A white Marwari horse performing dance steps

The peculiarity of the Marwari horse is its inwardly curved, crescent moon shaped ears, a unique feature to equines.

The Marwari horse has ears curved inward, a unique feature to equines | Photo : anakondan / Getty Images

The Rathores, Rajput chiefs of the Marwar region, were the first to raise the Marwaris, starting in the 12th century. These Horses were later used by Maharajas and in the cavalry, the Marwari being known for its endurance and flexibility of character.

“Chetak”, the steed of the Maharana of Udaipur (Udai Singh Pratap), is certainly India’s most famous Marwari horse. It is honored throughout Rajasthan for his bravery and loyalty.

Representation of Chetak, the favorite steed of the Maharana Pratap (Udaipur Palace)

In the bloody battle of Haldighati between the Rajput and Mughal armed forces, Chetak saved his master as an elephant’s tusk tore one of his hind legs. The valiant horse, far from giving up, continued on three legs and brought the injured Maharana Pratap to a safe place, before collapsing.

Maharana Pratap on his Chetak mount during the Battle of Halgadi opposing the Rajput and Mughal armies

Nowadays, the Marwari is mainly used as a ceremonial horse during various festivities: adorned with decorations, it is the proud mount of the groom who comes to pick up his future wife. It is also the dancing horse of the fairs and festivals of Rajasthan.

Marwari horse ready for the wedding festivities

Festivities of the Pushkar Camel Fair


Horse tattoos are typical of Rajasthani festivities

The fair is also the occasion for typical Rajasthani folk festivities such as camel decoration contests, horse and camel races and a competition for the longest moustache. There are also magnificent concerts beside Lake Pushkar.

Although it is rather tourist-y, this fair is something to experience at least once in your life to soak up the culture of these desert folk.

A decorated camel at the Pushkar fair

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

TRAVEL WITH ME !