Jaipur, la ville rose, capitale du Rajasthan

Conçue selon des concepts védiques, Jaipur, la capitale bouillonnante du Rajasthan est l’une des villes les plus visitées en Inde. Il faut dire qu’elle sait comment charmer le voyageur : festivals colorés, élégants édifices historiques et riche artisanat. Du ‘palais du vent’ au ‘palais de l’eau’, la ville rose n’a de rivale que sa voisine, Amber la magnifique, l’ancienne capitale des Maharajas de Jaipur.

Une des entrées de la vieille ville

Relativement récente, Jaipur a été construite au 18e siècle par le Maharaja Jai Singh II. Il fit appel à un urbaniste du Bengale qui organisa la ville en neuf carrés qui, conformément aux concepts védiques, correspondent chacun à une planète de l’astrologie indienne. La ville entière est conçue selon un quadrillage ; tout était à l’origine standardisé, les rues, les boutiques, etc.

Son descendant, Ram Singh II, fera repeindre la ville en rose (d’où son surnom actuel) lors de la visite du prince de Galles en 1876 ; le rose étant la couleur traditionnelle de bienvenue.


Festivals à ne pas manquer


Festival de littérature de Jaipur


Le darbar hall du Palais Diggi | Photo : The India Today Group/Getty Images

Le festival de littérature de Jaipur a lieu depuis 2006. C’est le plus important festival littéraire d’Asie. Il rassemble certains des plus grands penseurs et écrivains de toute l’Asie du Sud et du monde. L’hôtel 5 étoiles ‘Diggi Palace’ sert de lieu principal pour la tenue du festival.

jaipurliteraturefestival.org


Festival des éléphants


Parade d’éléphants décorés | Photo : pradeep kumar chatte…

Le festival des éléphants se tient la veille de la fête de Holi, généralement au mois de février-mars. Il commence avec une belle procession d’éléphants, de chameaux chamarrés, de chevaux et de danseurs folkloriques. Les propriétaires embellissent fièrement leurs éléphants avec des peintures flamboyantes. Du Polo à dos d’éléphants et des danses d’éléphants sont aussi présentées.


Gangaur


 Gangaur est un festival de femmes haut en couleur. Il est célébré après la fête de Holi et honore Gauri, l’épouse de Shiva qui symbolise le bonheur conjugal…

LIRE LA SUITE +

Rajasthan Day


Parade d’éléphants lors du Rajasthan day |Photo : Rajasthan tourism

L’état du Rajasthan a été formé le 30 mars 1949, ce jour est célébré lors d’un festival d’une semaine. Des programmes culturels folkloriques et classiques ainsi que du théâtre sont organisés.


Et maintenant, visitons Jaipur !


City Palace


Nous commençons la visite de Jaipur par le palais de la cité qui occupe le neuvième carré védique, au centre de la ville. Le Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh II commença sa construction quand il déplaça sa cour d’Amber (voir ci-dessous) à Jaipur, en 1727.

Le Chandra Mahal au fond

Le palais est un complexe combinant plusieurs cours, palais, pavillons, jardins et temples.

En entrant dans la première cour, nous tombons sur le Sarvato Bhadra, un des édifices les plus fameux du city palace qui servait dans le temps de ‘Diwan-e-Khas‘, ou salle d’audience privée.

Le Sarvato Bhadra, le hall d’audience

Aujourd’hui, ce grand hall carré continue à être utilisé pour les célébrations des grands festivals indiens comme Dussehra ou Makar Sankranti, mais aussi lors des festivités typiques du Rajasthan telles que Gangaur et Teej, où l’image de la déesse Gauri est placée dans un palanquin au centre du hall, avant d’être portée en procession autour de la ville.

Un garde du Sarvato Bhadra posant devant une des jarres en argent

Petite anecdote mégalomane : dans le Sarvato Bhadra se trouvent deux énormes jarres en argent (Gangajalis) de 1,6 mètres de hauteur ayant chacune une capacité de 4000 litres. Elles furent spécialement commandées par le Maharaja Sawai Madho Singh II pour transporter l’eau du Gange qui servit d’eau potable lors de son voyage en Angleterre en 1901 afin d’assister au couronnement d’Edouard VII. Ces jarres de 340 kilogrammes chacune sont inscrites dans le Guinness book comme les plus grandes jarres d’argent au monde.

À droite du Sarvato Bhadra, une porte en bois, où deux hommes en tenues traditionnelles montent la garde, nous mène vers le Chandra Mahal, l’un des plus anciens bâtiments du complexe, toujours occupé par l’actuel Maharaja et sa famille.

Sukh Niwas

Les deux premiers étages se composent du Sukh Niwas avec ses jolies arabesques bleues et blanches, suivi du Rang Mandir et du Shobha Niwas qui présentent tous deux une décoration époustouflante incorporant des milliers de miroirs.

Rang Mandir

Les derniers étages (non-accessibles aux visiteurs) comprennent le Shri Niwas et le Mukut Mandir, le pavillon du couronnement. C’est sur le Mukut Mandir que l’étendard royal de Jaipur est hissé lorsque le Maharaja est en résidence.

Shobha Nivas

En redescendant du Chandra Mahal par des escaliers intérieurs étroits, nous tombons sur la petite cour ‘Pitam Niwas chowk’ ornée de quatre magnifiques portes colorées représentant les quatre-saisons et les dieux hindous associés à elles. Un des plus beaux joyaux du palais.

La porte du nord du ‘Pitam Niwas chowk’ avec des motifs de paons représentant l’automne et le dieu Vishnou

Yantra Mandir ou Jantar Mantar


Yantramandir

Sur la droite, en sortant du City Palace, se trouve le Yantra Mandir ou Jantar Mantar, un observatoire astronomique constitué d’une série d’instruments astronomiques, construits sur ordre du maharaja Jai Singh II entre 1727 et 1733. Il s’inspire d’un autre observatoire que Jai Singh II avait fait édifier précédemment à Delhi, capitale de l’Empire moghol.

Il en fit également bâtir trois autres à Bénarès, Mathura et Ujjain, mais celui de Jaipur est le plus imposant.

Cet observatoire a été construit dans le but d’établir les thèmes astraux et de déterminer les moments les plus propices pour les grands événements (mariages, déplacements…). Il est inscrit depuis 2010 sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO.


Temple Govind Devji


Krishna, l’idole du temple | Photo : @shrishriradhagovinddevjijaipur

Le temple hindou Govind Dev Ji est situé dans le complexe du City Palace et est dédié à Krishna. L’idole a été rapportée de Vrindavan (Uttar Pradesh) par Raja Sawai Jai Singh II, le fondateur de Jaipur. Elle était aussi la principale divinité de la dynastie Kachawaha d’Amber.

L’intérieur du temple Govind Dev Ji | Photo : Tripoto

Pour vous plonger réellement dans l’atmosphère du temple Govind Dev Ji, visitez-le pendant les aratis (voir horaires ci-dessous) et mêlez-vous à la foule des fidèles qui font de longues circumambulations autour de l’autel… Une expérience inoubliable ! Le temple vaut aussi le coup d’œil lors de la fête de Holi, qui trouve son origine dans l’histoire du seigneur Krishna.

Les horaires des 7 aratis (rituels) quotidiens du temple :

Mangla4:45 – 5:15
Dhoop7:45 – 9:00
Shringar9:30 – 10:15
Rajbhog11:00 – 11:30
Gwal17:30 -18:00
Sandhya18:30 – 19:45
Shayan20:45 – 21:15

Le palais du vent (Hawa Mahal)


Le Palais du vent est probablement le monument le plus emblématique de Jaipur qui, bien que situé à l’écart, fait partie du complexe du ‘City Palace’ ; un passage secret relie d’ailleurs les deux édifices.

Le palais du vent de nuit

Le Hawa Mahal était destiné aux femmes de la cour (zenana) qui pouvaient observer, sans être vues, les processions religieuses, à travers les petites fenêtres alvéolées.

L’arrière du Hawa Mahal

L’édifice fut construit par le Maharaja Sawai Pratap Singh en 1799 sous la supervision de l’architecte Lal Chandra Usta. Le Maharaja étant un fervent dévot du seigneur Krishna, il demanda alors à ce que le bâtiment soit construit selon la forme de la couronne de Krishna.

L’intérieur très simple du Hawa Mahal contrastant avec sa façade extérieure

Cet édifice de 5 étages, comprenant 61 loggias en pierre et 350 fenêtres, fut aussi pensé de manière à ce que le vent puisse circuler librement à travers les nombreuses loggias et vienne rafraîchir l’atmosphère, d’où son nom.

A visiter aussi en soirée quand le Hawa Mahal est particulièrement bien mis en valeur par les éclairages.


Le minaret ‘Iswari Minar Swarga Sal’


Le minaret de nuit

Si vous souhaitez avoir une vue à 360 degrés sur la ville rose, marchez encore quelques minutes à partir du Hawa Mahal en direction du bazar Tripolia et grimpez les marches du minaret Iswari Minar Swarga Sal, construit dans les années 1740 par Iswari, le fils et successeur de Jai Singh II. Attention, il ferme à 16h30.

Le fort Nahargarh


Madhavendra Bhawan, le palais estival des Maharajas de Jaipur

Construit en 1734 par le Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh II, Nahargarh, la ‘demeure des tigres’ se dresse fièrement sur les collines Aravalli qui surplombent la ville rose. Le fort formait dans le temps une ligne défensive, ses fortifications reliant le fort de Jaigarh à Amber.

Une des pièces du Madhavendra Bhawan décorée de délicate peintures murales

Le fort abrite le Madhavendra Bhawan, qui était la destination estivale des membres de la famille royale. Le palais possède douze boudoirs pour les reines et une suite pour le roi. Ils sont tous reliés par des couloirs ornés de délicates peintures murales.

A noter : Les voyageurs visitent habituellement le fort en fin d’après midi pour être sûrs d’assister au coucher du soleil sur la ville.

La vue sur la ville de Jaipur du fort de Nahargarh

Jal Mahal (Palais de l’eau)


A mi-chemin entre Jaipur et Amber se trouve le très romantique palais Jal Mahal semblant flotter sur les eaux. Il a été construit par Madho Singh en 1799 comme résidence secondaire pour la famille royale et pour une activité un peu moins glamour, la chasse au canard.


Cénotaphes royaux Gatore Ki Chhatriyan


Gravé de fines sculptures et situé dans les contreforts du Fort de Nahargarh, le Gatore Ki Chhatriyan, ‘la dernière demeure des âmes des défunts’, est un très beau complexe de temples et de cénotaphes des souverains Rajpoute Kachhwaha.

Le premier de ces cénotaphes est celui du Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh II, le fondateur de Jaipur et le dernier en date est celui de Sawai Raja Man Singh, le père du Maharaja Bhawani Singh, le roi actuel de Jaipur.

Jaipur

Temple Garh Ganesha


Jaipur
Le temple de Garh Ganesha | Photo : A.Savin Wikimedia

Le temple Garh Ganesha est dédié comme son nom l’indique à Ganesha, le dieu à tête d’éléphant. Il est juché au sommet d’une des collines Aravalli, près de celle du fort Nahargarh. On y accède par des escaliers escarpés à partir des cénotaphes royaux Gatore Ki Chhatriyan (voir ci-dessus).

Le temple a été construit par le Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh quand il a effectué le ‘Ashwamedha Yagna’ (rituel du feu) avant de s’installer à Jaipur. On dit qu’il a placé la statue de telle façon qu’il pouvait la voir, à l’aide de jumelles, du City Palace.

À visiter de préférence en début de matinée pour éviter la chaleur caniculaire et parce qu’aussi, il est de coutume de commencer chaque journée par le darshan (vision) de Ganesha, le dieu de bon augure. 🙂


Jaipur de nuit, un must


La capitale de Rajasthan est particulièrement intéressante de nuit quand les édifices et monuments sont mis en valeur par des éclairages judicieux. C’est le cas du palais du vent (voir en haut de page), mais aussi du Albert hall Museum, du Birla Mandir, du Raj Mandir et des bazars de la ville.


Albert hall Museum


Situé extra-muros, l’Albert hall Museum est le plus ancien musée d’état du Rajasthan. Il a été conçu par l’architecte britannique Sir Samuel Swinton Jacob et présente un belle architecture indo-sarrasine, c’est-à-dire un mélange d’architecture britannique, rajasthanie et moghole.

Jaipur
Le ‘Albert Hall Museum’ est à voir absolument de nuit !

Le musée possède une riche collection d’artefacts, mais la star ici est une momie égyptienne, celle d’une ‘Tutu’, une femme membre de la famille d’un prêtre, datant de la période ptolémaïque égyptienne (322 avant J.-C. à 30 avant J.-C.). Elle a été ramenée du Caire en 1887 par le Maharaja de Jaipur, Sawai Ishwar.


Birla Mandir Temple (Laxmi Narayan Mandir)


Le Birla Mandir est situé à la base de la colline Moti Dungari peu après l’Albert hall Museum. Ce vaste temple de marbre blanc a été construit au cours de l’année 1988 par la famille Birla, des magnats des affaires indiens.

Jaipur
Le Birla Mandir de nuit | Photo : Shutterstock

Le Birla Mandir est dédié à Vishnou et sa parèdre Lakshmi, la déesse de la prospérité. Les divinités du panthéon hindou sont représentées à l’intérieur du temple tandis que, sur la façade extérieure, on trouve les statues de grands personnages tels que Socrate, Zarathoustra, le Christ, Bouddha et Confucius.


Cinéma Raj Mandir


Jaipur

Et pourquoi pas un Bollywood* à Jaipur ? Le Raj Mandir est le parfait endroit pour cela ! C’est l’une des salles de cinéma les plus connues de l’Inde ; elle a été construite en 1976 dans le style Art Déco et son intérieur très kitch en forme de meringue vaut vraiment le coup d’oeil !

*Le terme «Bollywood » combine le mot ‘Bombay’ et ‘Hollywood’ et désigne un genre cinématographique propre au cinéma indien de langue hindi.

Jaipur
Le style Art Déco du cinéma Raj Mandir

L’expérience des salles obscures en Inde est un must même si vous ne comprenez pas la langue, l’ambiance est toujours au rendez-vous. Les indiens férus de cinéma vivent le film pleinement ! Prévoyez 3 h de libre tout de même…

Jaipur
La salle de cinéma en forme de meringue

Les bazars de la vieille ville


En Inde, une visite des bazars est une expérience à ne pas manquer et ceux de Jaipur se prêtent particulièrement à la flânerie et au shopping. Ici, chaque bazar a sa spécialité, le Kishanpole Bazar est spécialisé dans les textiles, le Tripolia bazar dans les ‘bangles’ (bracelets colorés), le Johari bazar pour la joaillerie, etc.


Amber, l’ancienne capitale (11 km)


La visite de Jaipur est incomplète sans celle de Amer, aussi épelée Amber, qui est l’ancienne capitale des Maharajas de Jaipur. Le palais d’Amer est la principale attraction de la ville, mais d’autres monuments tout autour valent aussi le détour.


Fort & Palais d’Amer


Jaipur
Vue sur le fort d’Amber de la route Jaipur-Amber

Le Fort d’Amber, qui inclut aussi un palais, a été construit en 1592 par le Maharaja Man Singh I sur les vestiges d’un fort du 11e siècle. Les dirigeants successifs ont ajouté plusieurs structures au fort avant de déplacer la capitale à Jaipur en 1727 suite à un accroissement de la population et à cause d’une pénurie d’eau.

Nous entrons dans le fort par le ‘Suraj Pole’ (porte du soleil) qui débouche sur la cour principale, le Jaleb chowk. C’est ici que se tenaient les parades militaires du roi.

Le Jaleb chowk, la cour la plus vaste à l’entrée du fort

Juste à droite en face de cette cour, des escaliers mènent au temple dédié à Shila Devi (une forme de la déesse Durga) dont l’idole a été donnée à Raja Man Singh lorsqu’il vainquit le Raja de Jessore (Bangladesh actuel), en 1604.

Jaipur
Le porche de Ganesh orné de peintures miniatures

La seconde cour du fort comprend le Diwan-e-Aam (hall des audiences publiques) érigé sur une plate-forme surélevée avec 27 colonnes.

Le Diwan-e-Aam (hall des audiences publiques)

La troisième cour était les appartements privés du Maharaja et de sa famille. On y accède par le très beau porche de Ganesh décoré de peintures miniatures. La cour comprend deux bâtiments, l’un en face de l’autre, séparés par un jardin de style Moghols.

Jaipur
Le jardin Moghol et, à droite, le Sukh Niwas

L’édifice à gauche de la porte d’entrée est appelé le ‘Sheesh Mahal’ (palais des miroirs) et pour cause, il est magnifiquement orné de miroirs incrustés conçus de manière à ce qu’ils brillent sous la lumière des bougies comme un ciel étoilé.

Jaipur
Le ‘Sheesh Mahal’, le palais des miroirs

En face du palais aux miroirs, se trouve le Sukh Niwas (hall du plaisir) dont les murs sont décorés de marqueteries de marbre et de niches. Un canal ouvert traverse l’édifice jusqu’au jardin Moghol rafraichissant l’atmosphère.

Jaipur
Intérieur du Sukh Niwas

La quatrième cour est l’endroit où se trouvait le Zenana, autrement dit le harem du maharaja, où vivaient non seulement les femmes de la famille royale mais aussi les concubines. Cette cour comprend de nombreux salons où les femmes résidaient attendant la visite improviste du Maharaja.


Fort de Jaigarh


Jaipur
Les jardins du fort de Jaigarh et l’épaisse muraille en grès rouge

Pour protéger le palais d’Amber, Jai Singh II fit construire le fort de Jaigarh (le fort de la victoire) en 1726 sur un promontoire des monts aravallis appelé Cheel Ka Teela (la colline des aigles). Il surplombe le fort d’Amber de 400 mètres et son épaisse muraille de grès rouge s’étend sur 3 kilomètres. Le fort comprend un palais, des jardins et un musée, mais sa principale attraction est le ‘Jai Vana’, l’un des plus grands canons à roues au monde. Fabriqué vers 1720, il a une portée de tir impressionnante d’environ 30 km.

Le ‘Jai Vana’, l’un des plus grands canons à roues au monde

Temple Sri Jagat Shiromaniji


Jaipur
Le temple de Sri Jagat Shiromaniji de type palatial

En contrebas du palais d’Amber, se trouvent plusieurs temples dont le plus important est le Sri Jagat Shiromaniji (couronne du seigneur Vishnou), dédié au seigneur Krishna. Il a été commandité en 1601 par la reine Kanakawati, femme du maharaja Man Singh, en souvenir de son fils Jagat Singh.

L’autel de Sri Jagat Shiromaniji

Le temple de style palatial foisonne de sculptures et comprend une splendide torana (arche) à l’entrée flanquée de deux éléphants finement sculptés dans le marbre blanc.

Jaipur
La torana, l’arche à l’entrée du temple

Ce temple est aussi associé à la sainte poétesse Mirabaï. On raconte que la statue de Krishna de ce temple serait celle-là même que Mirabaï vénérait. Elle aurait été sauvée de la destruction par les dirigeants d’Amer pendant les guerres contre les Moghols et placée dans ce temple.


Panna Meena Ka Kund


Jaipur
Le Panna Meena Ka Kund, un bel exemple de puits à paliers

En bas du temple Sri Jagat Shiromaniji, on découvre le Panna Meena Ka Kund, un bel exemple de puits à étages, typiques du Rajasthan.

Construit au 16e siècle EC, il était utilisé comme une source d’approvisionnement en eau aussi bien qu’un lieu de rassemblement communautaire.

La géométrie parfaite du lieu avec ses escaliers entrecroisés et ses nombreuses niches est un régal pour les yeux. Mais, si vous voulez voir le plus grand puits à palier du Rajasthan, le Chand Baori, il faudra continuer votre route en direction d’Agra…


Temples Galtaji Monkey (10 km)


jaipur
L’édifice où se trouve le Galta kund

Pour finir en beauté la visite de Jaipur, je vous conseille de partir au  cœur des monts Aravallis pour découvrir les temples de Galtaji construits entre deux falaises, de vrais petits bijoux.

Le complexe est un ancien lieu de pèlerinage ; on dit qu’un saint du nom de Galav, dont le lieu tire son nom, vécut ici pendant 100 ans en pratiquant d’intenses ascèses. Depuis le 16e siècle, il est aussi la demeure des adeptes de la branche hindouiste ‘Ramanandi Sampradaya’ qui met principalement l’accent sur l’adoration du dieu Rama et de toutes les autres incarnations du dieu Vishnou.

Un des temples du complexe de Galta ji

Le temple actuel a été construit au 18e siècle sous le règne du Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh II et il est aussi la demeure de milliers de singes, d’où son deuxième nom. Outre ses nombreux temples, il comprend aussi 7 Kunds (bassins) qui sont alimentés par une source d’eau pure jaillissant de la falaise et se jetant dans un premier bassin, le ‘Galta Kund‘, tout en haut du complexe. Prendre un bain dans ce bassin sacré est considéré comme une bénédiction.

Le ‘Galta Kund’, le bassin le plus sacré du complexe


VISITEZ AUSSI LES LIEUX D’INTÉRÊTS AUTOUR DE JAIPUR


Laissez un commentaire :)

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.

VOYAGEZ AVEC MOI !

Jaipur, the pink city, capital of Rajasthan

Designed according to Vedic concepts, Jaipur, the buzzing capital of Rajasthan is one of the most visited cities in India. Well, the pink city knows how to charm the traveler: colourful festivals, majestic historic buildings and rich craftsmanship. From the “palace of winds” to the “water palace”, the pink city has no close rival except neighbouring Amber, the Jaipur Maharajas’ previous capital.

One of the gates to the old town

Jaipur is a relatively recent town, built in the 18th century by the Maharaja Jai Singh II. He called in a Bengali town planner who designed the city, in compliance with Vedic concepts, in 9 blocks corresponding to the nine planets of Indian astrology. The entire town is based on a square grid plan. Everything – streets, shops etc. – was standardised from the outset.

Jai Singh’s descendant Ram Singh II had the town repainted in pink to welcome the visiting Prince of Wales in 1876, pink being the traditional colour of welcome. Jaipur has been called the Pink City ever since.


Festivals not to miss


Jaipur Literature Festival


The darbar hall of the Diggi Palace | Photo : The India Today Group/Getty Images

The Jaipur Literature Festival is an annual literary festival taking place in the Indian city of Jaipur since 2006 during the month of January. The Diggi Palace Hotel serves as the main venue of the festival. JLF brings together some of the greatest thinkers and writers from across South Asia and the world. From Nobel laureates to local language writers. jaipurliteraturefestival.org


Elephant Festival


Decorated elephant parade | Photo : pradeep kumar chatte…

The Elephant Festival is held on the day of Holi festival, usually in the month of March. The festival features Elephant polo and Elephant Dance. The Elephant Festival begins with a beautiful procession of bedecked elephants, camels, horses and folk dancers. The owners proudly embellish their elephants with vibrant colors, jhools (saddle cloth) and heavy jewellery.The most beautifully decorated elephant is awarded.


Gangaur


Gangaur is a colourful women’s festival that is mainly celebrated in Rajasthan.The word ‘Gangaur’ is derived from ‘Gana’, a term for Lord Shiva, and ‘Gauri’, referring to his consort Parvati. In fact the festival is mainly in honour of Gauri, symbolising conjugal happiness…

KNOW MORE +

Rajasthan Day


Elephant parade on Rajasthan day |Photo : Rajasthan tourism

Rajasthan Day is celebrated on 30th March every year with lot of enthusiasm and many exciting and colourful events. These include cultural, classical and theatre events. Rajasthan was formed on 30 March 1949. In significance of this and to make people of Rajasthan have a sense of pride in their state, this day is celebrated as a week long festival.


And now, let’s visit Jaipur !


City Palace


We start the visit of Jaipur by the palace of the city, which occupies the ninth Vedic square, in the center of the city. Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh II began its construction when he moved his court from Amber (see below) to Jaipur in 1727.

The Chandra Mahal in the background

The palace is a complex with several courtyards, palaces, pavilions, gardens and temples.

Upon entering the first courtyard, we come across the Sarvato Bhadra, one of the most famous buildings in the city palace which used to be the ‘Diwan-e-Khas’, or private courtroom.

Sarvato Bhadra, the audience hall

Today, this large square hall continues to be used for celebrations of major Indian festivals such as Dussehra or Makar Sankranti, but also during typical Rajasthani festivities such as Gangaur and Teej, where the idol of the goddess Gauri is placed in a palanquin in the center of the hall, before being carried in a procession around the city.

A guard posing in front of one of the silver jars

Little megalomaniac anecdote: in the Sarvato Bhadra there are two huge silver jars (Gangajalis) 1.6 meters high, each with a capacity of 4000 liters. They were specially commissioned by Maharaja Sawai Madho Singh II to transport water from the Ganges that was used as drinking water during his trip to England in 1901 in order to attend the coronation of Edward VII. These 340 kg jars are registered in the Guinness book as the largest silver vessels in the world.

To the right of Sarvato Bhadra, a wooden door, where two men in traditional dress stand guard, leads us to the Chandra Mahal, one of the oldest buildings in the complex, still occupied by the current Maharaja and his family.

Sukh Niwas

The first two floors include the Sukh Niwas with its pretty blue and white arabesques, followed by Rang Mandir and Shobha Niwas which both have a breathtaking decoration incorporating thousands of mirrors.

Rang Mandir

The top floors (not accessible to visitors) there are the Shri Niwas and the Mukut Mandir, the coronation pavilion. It is on the Mukut Mandir that the royal standard of Jaipur is hoisted when the Maharaja is in residence.

Shobha Nivas

Coming down from Chandra Mahal by narrow internal stairs, we come across the small courtyard ‘Pitam Niwas chowk’ decorated with four magnificent colorful doors representing the four seasons and the Hindu gods associated with them.

The northern gate of the ‘Pitam Niwas chowk’ with patterns of peacocks depicting autumn and the god Vishnu

Yantra Mandir ou Jantar Mantar


Yantramandir

On the right, leaving the City Palace, there is the Jantar Mantar, one of the five observatories of India together with Delhi, Varanasi, Mathura and Ujjain. It is considered as one of the largest and best preserved observatories. It was built by Sawai Jai Singh II in the year of 1724.

The monument features masonry, stone and brass instruments that were built using astronomy and instrument design principles of ancient Hindu Sanskrit texts. The instruments allow the observation of astronomical positions with the naked eye.


Govind Devji Temple


Krishna, the idol the temple | Photo : @shrishriradhagovinddevjijaipur

The Hindu temple Govind Dev Ji is located in the City Palace complex and is dedicated to Krishna. The idol was brought back from Vrindavan by Raja Sawai Jai Singh II, the founder of Jaipur. She was also the main deity of the Kachawaha dynasty of Amber.

The interior of the Govind Dev Ji temple | Photo: Tripoto

To really immerse yourself in the atmosphere of the Govind Dev Ji temple, visit it during the aratis (see timetables below) and mingle with the crowd of the faithful who make long circumambulations around the altar … A unforgettable experience ! The temple is also worth a visit during the Holi festival, which originated in the history of Lord Krishna.

The schedules of the daily aratis (rituals) of the temple:

Mangla4:45 – 5:15
Dhoop7:45 – 9:00
Shringar9:30 – 10:15
Rajbhog11:00 – 11:30
Gwal17:30 -18:00
Sandhya18:30 – 19:45
Shayan20:45 – 21:15

Hawa Mahal (Wind Palace)


The Wind Palace is probably the most emblematic monument of Jaipur which, although located away, is part of the ‘City Palace’ complex; a secret passage also connects the two buildings.

The Hawa Mahal was intended for women of the court (zenana) who could observe, without being seen, the religious processions, through latticed windows.

The building was constructed by Maharaja Sawai Pratap Singh in 1799 under the supervision of architect Lal Chandra Usta. The Maharaja being a devotee of Lord Krishna, he asked that the building be constructed in the shape of the crown of Krishna.

The very simple interior of the Hawa Mahal contrasting with its exterior facade

This 5-storey building, comprising 61 stone loggias and 350 windows, was also designed so that the breeze could circulate freely through the many balconies, refreshing the atmosphere – whence its name, which literally means “palace of winds”.

Visit the Hawa palace during the evening too when the Hawa Mahal is particularly is embellished with the lighting.


Minaret ‘Iswari Minar Swarga Sal’


If you want a 360-degree view of the pink city, walk a few more minutes from the Hawa Mahal towards the Tripolia bazaar and climb the steps of the minaret Iswari Minar Swarga Sal, built in the 1740s by Iswari, the son and successor of Jai Singh II. Please note, it closes at 4.30 p.m.


Nahargarh Fort


Madhavendra Bhawan, the summer palace of the Maharajas of Jaipur

Built in 1734 by Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh II, founder of Jaipur, Nahargarh (“abode of tigers”) stands proudly on the edge of the Aravalli hills above the pink city. Together with Amber and Jaigarh forts, Nahargarh once formed a strong defensive ring for Jaipur. 

One of the Madhavendra Bhawan’s rooms decorated with delicate murals

The fort houses the Madhavendra Bhawan, which was the summer destination for members of the royal family. The palace has twelve boudoirs for the queens and a suite for the king. They are all connected by corridors decorated with delicate murals.

Note: Travelers usually visit the fort in the late afternoon to be on time to watch the sunset over the city.

The view on the city of Jaipur from the Nahargarh fort

Jal Mahal (Water Palace)


Halfway between Jaipur and Amber stands the romantic Jal Mahal, “floating” in its lake. It was built by Madho Singh in 1799 as a second home for the royal family and also, on a slightly less romantic note, for duck hunting.


Gatore Ki Chhatriyan Cenotaphs


The finely carved and sculpted Gatore Ki Chhatriyan (“last abode of the souls of the dead”), at the foot of the hill, below Nahargarh Fort, is a beautiful complex of temples and cenotaphs of the Rajput Kachwaha dynasty.

The first cenotaph is of Jaipur’s founder, Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh II, and the most recent is of Sawai Raja Man Singh, the father of Maharaja Bhawani Singh, the last king of Jaipur.

Jaipur

Garh Ganesha Temple


Jaipur
| Photo : A.Savin Wikimedia

The Garh Ganesha temple is dedicated, as its name suggests, to Ganesha, the elephant-headed god. It is perched on top of one of the Aravalli hills, near that of Fort Nahargarh. It is reached by steep stairs from the royal cenotaphs Gatore Ki Chhatriyan (see above).

The temple was built by Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh when he performed the Ashwamedha Yagna fire ritual before settling in Jaipur. It is said that he placed the statue so that he could see it from the City Palace with binoculars.

To visit preferably in the early morning to avoid the scorching heat and because also, it is customary to start each day with the darshan (sight) of Ganesha, the auspicious god. 🙂


Jaipur by night, a must


The capital of Rajasthan is particularly nice at night when the buildings and monuments are highlighted by judicious lighting. This is the case of the Palace of the Wind (see top of the page), but also of the Albert Hall Museum, the Birla Mandir, the Raj Mandir and the city’s bazaars.


Albert hall Museum


Located outside of the city walls, the Albert Hall Museum is the oldest state museum in Rajasthan. It was designed by the British architect Sir Samuel Swinton Jacob and presents a beautiful Indo-Saracenic architecture, that is to say a mixture of British architecture, Rajasthani and Mughal.

Jaipur
The ‘Albert Hall Museum’ is a must-see at night!

The museum has a rich collection of artifacts, but the star here is an Egyptian mummy, that of a ‘Tutu’, a female member of the family of a priest, dating from the Egyptian Ptolemaic period (322 BC to 30 BC). It was brought back from Cairo in 1887 by the Maharaja of Jaipur, Sawai Ishwar.


Birla Mandir Temple (Laxmi Narayan Mandir)


Birla Mandir is a Hindu temple at the foot of Moti Dungari hill, shortly after the Albert hall Museum. This vast white marble temple was built around 1988 by the Birla family, a wealthy Indian business family.

Jaipur
The Birla Mandir at night | Photo : Shutterstock

The temple is dedicated to Vishnu and his consort Lakshmi, goddess of prosperity. The deities of the Hindu pantheon are portrayed inside the temple while the exterior is adorned with great figures such as Socrates, Zarathustra, Christ, Buddha and Confucius.


Raj Mandir Theatre


Jaipur

Why not take in a Bollywood* film in Jaipur? Raj Mandir is the place to go for that. It’s one of India’s most famous cinemas. Built in Art Deco style, it opened in 1976. The high-kitsch meringue-shaped auditorium is well worth seeing.

* “Bollywood”, a word made up from “Bombay” and “Hollywood”, is the name for a genre of popular films made in India in the Hindi language.

Jaipur
The Art Deco style of Raj Mandir

In any case going to the movies while in India is an unmissable experience. Even without understanding the language, the atmosphere says it all. Indian film fans throw themselves into the experience, sometimes shouting, singing and dancing. You’ll need to set aside three hours for this.

Jaipur
The auditorium in the shape of a meringue

Bazaars of the old town


In India, a visit to the bazaars is an experience not to be missed and those of Jaipur are particularly suitable for strolling and shopping. Here, each bazaar has its specialty; The Kishanpole Bazaar specializes in textiles, the Tripolia bazaar in bangles, the Johari bazaar for jewelry, etc.


Amber, the former capital (11 km)


Jaipur’s visit is incomplete without that of Amer, also spelled Amber, which is the former capital of the Maharajas of Jaipur. The Amer Palace is the city’s main attraction, but other monuments all around are also worth a visit.


Amber fort


Jaipur
View of the Amber fort from the Jaipur-Amber road

Amber Fort, which also includes a palace, was built in 1592 by Maharaja Man Singh I on the remains of an 11th-century fort. Successive leaders added several structures to the fort before moving the capital to Jaipur in 1727 following an increase in population and because of a water shortage.

We enter the fort through the ‘Suraj Pole’ (door of the sun), which leads to the main courtyard, the Jaleb chowk. It was here that the king’s military parades were held.

The Jaleb chowk, the largest courtyard at the entrance to the fort

Just to the right in front of this courtyard, stairs lead to the temple dedicated to Shila Devi (a form of the goddess Durga) whose idol was given to Raja Man Singh when he defeated the Raja of Jessore (present-day Bangladesh), in 1604.

Jaipur
Ganesh’s porch decorated with miniature paintings

The second courtyard of the fort includes the Diwan-e-Aam (hall of public hearings) erected on an elevated platform with 27 columns.

Diwan-e-Aam (public hearing hall)

The third courtyard was the private apartments of the Maharaja and his family. It is reached by the beautiful Ganesh porch decorated with miniature paintings. The courtyard consists of two buildings, one opposite the other, separated by a Mughal-style garden.

Jaipur
The Mughal Garden and, on the right, the Sukh Niwas

The building to the left of the front door is called the ‘Sheesh Mahal’ (Palace of Mirrors) and for good reason, it is beautifully adorned with inlaid mirrors designed so that they shine under the candle light like a starry sky.

Jaipur
The ‘Sheesh Mahal’, the palace of mirrors

Opposite the mirrors palace is the Sukh Niwas (pleasure hall) whose walls are decorated with marble inlays and niches. An open canal crosses the building to the Mughal garden, which refreshes the atmosphere.

Jaipur
Interior of the Sukh Niwas

The fourth courtyard is where the Zenana was located, in other words the harem of the maharaja, where not only the women of the royal family lived but also the concubines. This courtyard includes numerous lounges where the women resided awaiting the improvised visit of the Maharaja.


Jaigarh Fort


Jaipur
The gardens of the fort of Jaigarh and the thick wall of red sandstone

To protect the palace of Amber, Jai Singh II built the fort of Jaigarh (the victory fort) in 1726 on a promontory of the Aravalli mountains called Cheel Ka Teela (the hill of the eagles). It overlooks the Amber Fort by 400 meters and its thick wall of red sandstone stretches for 3 kilometers. The fort includes a palace, gardens and a museum, but its main attraction is the ‘Jai Vana’, one of the largest wheeled cannons in the world. Manufactured around 1720, it has an impressive shooting range of around 30 km.

The ‘Jai Vana’, one of the largest wheeled cannons in the world

Sri Jagat Shiromaniji temple


Jaipur
Sri Jagat Shiromaniji palatial temple

Below the Amber Palace there are several temples, the most important of them is the Sri Jagat Shiromaniji (crown of Lord Vishnu), dedicated to Lord Krishna. It was built in 1601 by Queen Kanakawati, wife of Maharaja Man Singh, in memory of her son Jagat Singh.

The altar of Sri Jagat Shiromaniji

The palatal style temple is adorned with harmonious sculptures and includes a splendid torana (arch) at the entrance flanked by two elephants finely carved in white marble.

Jaipur
The torana, the arch at the entrance of the temple

This temple is also associated with the holy poetess Meerabai. It is said that the statue of Krishna of this temple is the very one that Meerabai worshiped. She would have been saved from destruction by the rulers of Amer during the wars against the Mughals and placed in this temple.


Panna Meena Ka Kund


Jaipur
Panna Meena Ka Kund, a fine step-well example

At the bottom of the Sri Jagat Shiromaniji temple, we discover the Panna Meena Ka Kund, a fine example of a step-well, typical of Rajasthan.

It was built in the 16th century and was both a water supply and a gathering place for the local community.

Its perfect geometry, with intersecting staircases and numerous niches, is a delight to the eye. But, if you want to see the largest step-well of Rajasthan, the Chand Baori, you will have to continue your road towards Agra …


Temples Galtaji Monkey (10 km)


jaipur
The building where the Galta kund is located

To finish off the tour of Jaipur in style, I recommend you a drive to the heart of the Aravallis mountains to discover the temples of Galtaji built in between two cliffs, there are little gems.

The complex is an ancient place of pilgrimage; it is said that a saint named Galav, whose place takes his name, lived here for 100 years practicing intense asceticism. Since the 16th century, it has also been the home of followers of the Hindu branch ‘Ramanandi Sampradaya’ which mainly emphasizes the worship of the god Rama and all the other incarnations of the god Vishnu.

One of the temples of the Galta ji complex

The current temple was built in the 18th century under the reign of Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh II and it is also the home of thousands of monkeys, hence its second name. Besides its many temples, it also includes 7 Kunds (ponds) which are fed by a source of pure water gushing from the cliff and flowing into a first basin, the ‘Galta Kund’, at the top of the complex. Taking a bath in this sacred pool is considered a blessing.

The ‘Galta Kund’, the most sacred basin of the complex

2 Comments on “Jaipur, the pink city, capital of Rajasthan”

  1. Really Very Helpful Articles For Every One,Thanks For Sharing Keep Up The Good Work

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

TRAVEL WITH ME !