Thirukokarnam, demeure de la déesse Praghathambal

Le temple de Thirukokarnam, situé à 5 km de Pudukkottai, est dédié à la déesse hindoue Praghathambal ou Araikasu Amman et à Gokaneshwarar, une des formes du dieu Shiva. Passé la porte d’entrée, le temple de Thirukokarnam d’apparence pourtant modeste dévoile un enchevêtrement de fascinants sanctuaires souterrains.

Thirukokarnam
L’ensemble du temple vu de l’extérieur

La déesse Prahadambal a le pouvoir, dit-on, de retrouver ce qui est égaré. Les fidèles viennent faire une puja (rituel) spéciale avec du jaggery (sucre de palme) pour espérer retrouver l’objet perdu.

Thirukokarnam
La déesse Prahadambal

On dit que l’empereur Vijaya Nagar qui régnait sur Pudukkottai perdit un document d’une haute importance. Tous ses efforts pour le retrouver furent vains. Il pria alors la déesse Prahadambal et son document lui fut restitué. Le roi fut si heureux que, pour exprimer sa gratitude, il fît imprimer des pièces en argent avec l’image en relief de la déesse et les distribuait à ses sujets lors d’occasions festives. Les pièces étant de forme semi-circulaire (Ara Kasu) ; la déesse fut alors connue sous le nom de Araikasu Amman.

Thirukokarnam
Couloir d’entrée du temple avec l’image de la déité

On dit aussi que l’endroit libère du mauvais sort. Cette croyance provient également d’une légende.

En raison d’un sort que lui avait jeté Indra, le dieu de la pluie, la vache divine Kamadenu fut bannie et envoyée sur terre. Elle alla se réfugier dans l’Ashram du sage Kapila Maharshi où elle effectua des abishekams (rituels) quotidiens envers Shiva.

Thirukokarnam
Les 63 Nayanars, les saints hommes tamouls

On dit qu’elle collectait l’eau sacrée du Gange dans ses oreilles et la versait sous l’arbre vakula. Le seigneur Shiva voyant cela décida alors de tester sa dévotion. Il se rendit à son tour sur terre sous la forme d’un tigre et menaça de la manger. Kamadenu acquiesça, mais demanda cependant au tigre d’attendre jusqu’à ce qu’elle ait complété le rituel à Shiva.

Comme promis, après l’abishekam, Kamadenu vint s’offrir au tigre. Ce dernier se changea alors en Shiva et Parvati qui la bénirent et la libérèrent de son sort. De là, vient le nom de Gokarneshwarar qui veut dire “le seigneur des oreilles de vache”.

Hormis les deux sanctuaires principaux, Thirukokarnam abrite plusieurs autres petits temples qui valent le coup d’œil comme celui de Bakulavaneshwara (le dieu de la forêt Bakula) et à l’étage donnant sur le toit du temple, ceux de Durga, Lakshmi, Saraswati, Muruga et des différents saints tamouls.


Laissez un commentaire :)

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

VOYAGEZ AVEC MOI !

Thirukokarnam, abode of the goddess Praghathambal

Thirukokarnam temple, 5km from Pudukkottai, is dedicated to the Hindu goddess Praghathambal or Araikasu Amman and to Gokaneshwarar, one of the forms of the god Shiva.The temple looks unimpressive from outside, but once inside you find a fascinating labyrinth of subterranean shrines.

Thirukokarnam
The whole temple

The goddess Praghathambal is said to have the power to find lost things. Believers come to perform a special puja or ritual with jaggery (palm sugar) in the hope of finding something they have lost.

Thirukokarnam
The goddess Prahadambal

It is said that the ruler of the Vijayanagar empire, to which Pudukkottai belonged, once lost an extremely important document. All efforts to find it were in vain. So he prayed to Praghathambal and his document turned up again. The king was so grateful that he had coins minted with the image of the goddess in relief and distributed them to his subjects on festive occasions. They were semi-circular coins (half coins, ara kasu in Tamil); after that the goddess was known as Araikasu Amman.

Thirukokarnam
Entrance hall of the temple with the image of the deity

There is also a belief that this place can free someone from a curse. The legend behind this belief goes like this: Indra the rain god had cursed the heavenly cow Kamadenu so she was banished and sent to earth.

She took refuge in the ashram of the sage Kapila Maharshi where she daily performed abhishekam, or rituals, to Shiva. She gathered water from the Ganges in her ears and poured it at the foot of the vakula (or bakula) tree.

Thirukokarnam
The 63 Nayanars, the Tamil saints

Seeing this, Lord Shiva decided to test her devotion. He came to earth in the form of a tiger and threatened to eat her. Kamadenu begged the tiger to wait until she had finished her ritual to Shiva.

Thirukokarnam

When she had finished, Kamadenu offered herself to the tiger as promised, upon which the tiger turned into Shiva and Parvati, blessed Kamadenu and released her from the curse. This is the origin in the name Gokaneshwarar, which means “lord of the cow’s ears”.

As well as its two main sanctums, to the goddess Praghathambal and to Gokaneshwarar, Thirukokarnam temple has several other shrines including the one to Bakulavaneshwara (“lord of the bakula forest”) and upstairs, looking out over the temple roof, shrines to Durga, Lakshmi, Saraswati, Muruga and various Shaivite saints.


2 Comments on “Thirukokarnam, abode of the goddess Praghathambal”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

TRAVEL WITH ME !