Pancha Bhoota Sthalas, les lingams des cinq éléments

Les ‘Pancha Bhoota Sthalas’ font référence aux cinq temples dédiés au dieu hindou Shiva, chacun de ces temples représentant un des cinq éléments fondamentaux de la nature : l’eau, l’air, l’éther, le feu et la terre. Pancha signifie ‘cinq’, Bhoota ‘éléments’ et Sthalas ‘lieu’.

Ces fascinants temples sont tous situés dans le Sud de l’Inde, quatre dans le Tamil Nadu et un dans l’Andhra Pradesh.

Les cinq grands temples associés aux cinq éléments sont les suivants :

  1. Terre (Prithvi) – Temple Ekambareswarar (Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu)
  2. Eau (Jalam) – Temple Jambukeswara (Tiruchirapalli, Tamil Nadu)
  3. Feu (Agni) – Temple Annamalaiyar (Tiruvannamalai, Tamil Nadu)
  4. Air (Vayu) – Temple de Sri Kalahasti (SriKalahasti, Andhra Pradesh)
  5. Ether (Akaasam) – Temple de Chidambaram (Chidambaram, Tamil Nadu)

1. Temple d’Ekambareswarar  (Terre / Prithvi)


Ekambareswarar est le plus grand temple de Kanchipuram. Son gopuram fait près de 60 m de haut, ce qui en fait l’un des plus hauts en Inde.

Les premières fondations de ce temple datent aux alentours de 600 après J-C. ; les divers royaumes qui se sont succédés comme les Pallava, Pandya, Chola et Vijayanagar ont contribué successivement à sa construction.

Le saint des saints abrite un lingam de sable, représentant l’élément terre (prithvi).

Le hall aux 540 piliers où 1 008 Shivalingams se tiennent élégamment est particulièrement impressionnant. Une autre spécificité de ce temple est son manguier qu’on dit vieux de 3500 et qui donnerait quatre sortes de mangues différentes.

LIRE LA SUITE +

2. Temple Jambukeswara (Eau /Jalam)


Le temple de Jambukeswara se situe à 2 km de l’immense temple de Sri Rangam à Trichy.

Le Shivalingam de Jambukeswara représente l’élément eau (appu-lingam). Le temple est constamment approvisionné en eau par des sources souterraines.

Ce temple est aussi l’un des 275 ‘Paadal Petra Sthalams’ : quatre des plus grands Nayanars (saints shivaïtes tamouls) ont chanté ses louanges.
L’autre divinité du temple est la déesse Devi Akilandeswari Amman. Akhilandeshwari signifie ‘maître de l’univers’.

LIRE LA SUITE +

3.  Temple Annamalaiyar (Feu /Agni)


Annamalaiyar Temple

Annamalaiyar Temple

Le temple Annamalaiyar ou Arunachaleswarar, situé au pied de la colline Arunachala à Tirunavanamalai est associé à l’élément feu, ou Agni.

Shiva s’étant manifesté, d’après le mythe, en tant que colonne de feu à cet endroit, il est représenté par un lingam de feu ou ‘agni lingam’. Annamalaiyar symbolise le devoir, la vertu, le sacrifice de soi et la libération par la vie ascétique.

Ce temple est l’un des plus grands en Inde, il couvre dix hectares. La structure remonte à la dynastie Chola (9ème siècle) et des extensions ultérieures sont attribuées à la dynastie Vijayanagar Sangama (14-15ème siècle), Saluva et tuluva (15-16ème siècle).

LIRE LA SUITE +

4.  Temple de Srikalahasti (Air/ Vayu)


Kalahasti_temple

Kalahasti Temple

Kalahasti est situé à 36 km du célèbre temple de Tirupati. L’intérieur du temple a été construit aux alentours du 5ème siècle et l’extérieur au 12ème siècle par les rois Chola et Vijayanagar.

Le Seigneur Shiva est ici vénéré en tant que ‘Kalahasteeswara’ symbolisant la libération et la mort de l’ego. Shiva est incarné par un ‘vayu-lingam’ blanc qu’on dit auto-manifesté (Swayambhu). Ce lingam ne peut être touché par les fidèles, ni même par les Brahmans (prêtres).

On dit qu’un lampe dans le sanctuaire vacille même quand aucun courant d’air n’est observé.


5. Temple de Chidambaram (Ether / Akaasam)


chidambaramLe complexe du temple de Chidambaram s’étend sur 20 hectares au coeur de la ville du même nom. Il s’agit d’un temple antique et historique dédié à Shiva sous sa forme de Nataraja (danseur cosmique) mais aussi au Seigneur Govindaraja Perumal (Vishnou).

C’est l’un des rares temples où deux divinités shivaïte et vishnouïte cohabitent.

Le mot ‘Chidambaram’ dériverait de ‘chit’, qui signifie ‘conscience’, et d’ ‘Ambaram’, ‘ciel’ (aakasam ou aakayam); Cela se réfère à la chidaakasam, le ciel de la conscience, qui est le but ultime qu’il faut atteindre selon les Védas. Une deuxième interprétation voudrait que ‘Ambalam’ signifie ‘scène de spectacle’. Une troisième théorie veut que Chidambram dérive de ‘chitrambalam’ signifiant ‘danses de Dieu’.

La caractéristique unique de ce temple est l’idole de Nataraja. Elle représente le Seigneur Shiva en tant que Seigneur de la danse Bharata Natyam (danse classique indienne). C’est l’un des rares temples où Shiva est représenté par une murthi (image antropomorphique) plutôt que par un Lingam. La danse cosmique de Shiva Nataraja symbolise le mouvement de l’univers soutenu par le Seigneur Shiva.


Laissez un commentaire :)

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.

VOYAGEZ AVEC MOI !

Pancha Bhoota Sthalas

The “Pancha Bhoota Sthalas” refers to the five temples dedicated to the Hindu god Shiva, each of these temples representing the five prime elements of nature; water, air, ether, fire and earth. “Pancha” means five, “Bhoota”, elements and “Sthalas”, place.

These temples are all located in the South of India, four in Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh.

The five temples associated with the five elements are:

  1. EARTH (Prithvi): Ekambareswarar Temple (Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu)
  2. WATER (Jalam): Jambukeswara Temple (Tiruchirapalli, Tamil Nadu)
  3. FIRE (Agni): Annamalaiyar Temple (Tiruvannamalai,Tamil Nadu)
  4. AIR /WIND (Vayu): Sri Kalahasti Temple (SriKalahasti, Andhra Pradesh)
  5. ETHER / SKY (Akaasam): Chidambaram Temple (Chidambaram, Tamil Nadu)

 

EARTH – Ekambareswarar Temple, Kanchipuram


Ekambareswara Temple

L’entrée du temple Ekambareswara

Ekambareswara, a superb temple on the north side of town, is is the largest temple in Kanchipuram.

Its gopuram (entrance tower) stands nearly 60m tall, which makes it one of the tallest in India.

The temple’s earliest foundations date from about 600 CE; successive dynasties such as the Pallavas, Pandyas and Cholas, and later the Vijayanagar kings, all remodelled or added to the building.

The sanctum sanctorum houses a Prithvi Lingam representing Earth (prithvi means “earth”).

The hall with 540 pillars and 1008 Shiva Lingams is particularly impressive. Another of the temple’s particularities is a mango tree said to be 3500 years old and to produce four different kinds of mango.

MORE ABOUT KANCHIPURAM +

 

WATER – Jambukeswara Temple, Tiruchirapalli


Jambukeswarar Temple

Jambukeswarar Temple

Two kilometres from famous Sri Rangam temple is Jambukeswarar, one of Trichy’s most revered temples. Its Shiva Lingam is an Appu Lingam, representing water.

The sanctum receives a constant flow of water from an underground source. Jambukeswarar temple is also one of the 275 Paadal Petra Sthalams, temples glorified in the songs of praise of the four greatest Shaivite saints or Nayanars.

And as Shiva is never far from his female counterpart, another temple in the same complex houses and idol of the goddess Devi Akilandeswari Amman. Akilandeswari means “Ruler of the Universe”. Non-Hindus are not usually allowed into the sanctum.

MORE ABOUT TIRUCHIRAPALLI +

 

FIRE – Annamalaiyar Temple, Tiruvannamalai


Annamalaiyar Temple

Annamalaiyar Temple

Arunachaleswarar (or Annamalaiyar) temple, at the foot of Arunachala Hill, is dedicated to Shiva.

As Shiva is believed to have appeared in this place as a column of light, he is represented here by a fire lingam or Agni Lingam.

Annamalaiyar symbolises duty, virtue, self-sacrifice and liberation by means of ascetic renunciation.

The temple is one of the largest in India, covering six hectares. The initial structure dates from the 9th-century Chola dynasty. Later extensions are attributed to the Vijayanagar Sangama dynasty of the 14th and 15th centuries and the Saluva and Tuluva dynasties of the 15th and 16th centuries.

MORE ABOUT TIRUVANNAMALAI +

 

AIR/WIND – Srikalahasti Temple


Kalahasti_temple

Kalahasti Temple

The Kalahasti temple is located 36 km away from the famous temple of Tirupati. The interior of the temple was built around the 5th century and the outside during the 12th century by the Chola and Vijayanagar kings.

Lord Shiva is worshiped here as Kalahasteeswara symbolizing the salvation and the death of the ego. Shiva is embodied by a white Vayu Lingam that is said to be self-manifested (Swayambhu). This lingam can not be touched by the devotees, not even by the Brahmins (priests).

It is said that a lamp in the sanctuary keeps flickering even when no air flow is observed.

 

ETHER/SKY – Chidambaram Temple


chidambaramThe temple complex covers 20 hectares in the heart of the city. This is an ancient and historic temple dedicated to Shiva Nataraja (dancing Shiva) but also to Lord Govindaraja Perumal (Vishnu). This is one of the few temples where both Shaivite and Vaishnavite deities coexist.

The word “Chidambaram” derives from “chit”, which means “conscience”, and “Ambaram”, “heaven” (or aakasam aakayam); This refers to the chidaakasam, the sky of consciousness, which is the ultimate goal to be achieved according to the Vedas (old scriptures). According to a second interpretation “Ambalam” would mean “stage show.” A third theory states that Chidambram derives from “chitrambalam” meaning “dances of God.”

The unique feature of this temple is the idol of Nataraja. It represents Lord Shiva as Lord of the Bharata Natyam dance (Indian classical dance). This is one of the few temples where Shiva is represented by a murthi (anthropomorphic image). The cosmic dance of Shiva Nataraja symbolizes the movement of the universe sustained by Lord Shiva.

[ Share 🙂 ]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

X