Vijayawada

Posée sur les rives du fleuve Krishna, Vijayawada est une ville commerciale et ne possède que très peu de monuments intéressants, mais elle est néanmoins une étape agréable pour vous imprégner de l’atmosphère spirituelle qui règne autour du fameux temple à Durga ou visiter les belles grottes troglodytiques d’Undavalli.  


Kanaka Durga Temple***


Kanaka Durga est le temple le plus célèbre de Vijayawada et un haut lieu de pèlerinage de l’Andhra Pradesh. Il est situé sur la colline d’Indrakeeladri près des rives de la rivière Krishna.

Vijayawada

La déesse Kanaka Durga

La déité principale du sanctuaire est la déesse Kanaka Durga représentée avec huit bras, chacun tenant une arme. Elle se tient debout sur le démon Mahishashura et le perce avec son trident. Les vedas (anciennes écritures hindoues) ont décrit la divinité comme ‘Swayambhu’ ou auto-manifestée.

Une des caractéristiques uniques du temple est que Durga se trouve sur le côté droit de Malleswara (son époux Shiva). D’une manière générale dans la tradition hindoue, les déesses se tiennent à gauche de leurs époux divins. Cela montre que la «Shakti» ou l’énergie féminine est prédominante dans ce temple.

La légende raconte que les démons avaient acquis de grands pouvoirs et commencèrent à harceler les sages sur la terre. Un de ces sages du nom de Keeladri, un dévot de la Shakti, pratiqua de longues pénitences. Lorsque finalement la déesse Kanaka Durga lui apparut, le sage l’implora de résider en lui. Kanaka Durga demanda à Keeladri de prendre la forme d’une colline pour lui permettre de rester sur lui.

Ainsi Keeladri est devenu la demeure de Durga. Elle prit la forme de Mahisasura Mardini aux huit bras parés d’armes et, montée sur un lion, elle piétina le démon Mahishasura libérant ainsi le peuple de Vijayawada. Comme le dieu Indra visita l’endroit, la colline prit ensuite le nom de Indrakeeladri.

vijayawada

Les rives de la rivière Krishna où les pélerins font leurs ablutions


Hazratbal Mosque**


Situé au cœur de la ville de Vijayawada, la Mosquée Hazratbal est un sanctuaire important pour les musulmans, car il abrite une sainte relique du Prophète Mohammed, fondateur de l’Islam.
La relique n’est montrée qu’une seule fois par an au public et elle attire des personnes de toutes les confessions.


Undavalli Caves****(6km)


Les magnifiques grottes d’Undavalli sont l’un des meilleurs exemples de grottes rupestres indiennes avec Ajanta, Ellora, Elephanta ou Udayagiri. Elles sont situés dans le district de Guntur, à 6 km au sud-ouest de Vijayawada.

vijayawada

Très belle sculpture de Ganesha, le dieu à tête d’éléphant

Ces grottes ont été taillées dans une colline de grès du 4ème au 7ème siècles ap. J.-C.
Il a plusieurs grottes, mais la plus importante est celle à quatre étages abritant une immense statue du dieu Vishnou dans une position allongée, sculptée dans un seul bloc de granit (au deuxième étage).

Le troisième étage est aussi orné de nombreuses sculptures, y compris des représentations de lions et de saints.

Vijayawada

Le dieu Vishnou

Initialement, les grottes servaient de complexe monastique bouddhique.

Vijayawada

Les sculptures du 3ème étage


Mangalagiri*** (11km)

Temple Panakala Narasimha

Mangalagiri, la colline de bonne augure, à 11 km de Vijayawada, est une visite intéressante à faire pour sa ferveur spirituelle. C’est un lieu de pèlerinage important pour les dévots hindous. C’est la demeure du seigneur Vishnou, qui s’est manifesté sous la forme de Thotadri. Il y a trois temples dédiés à Vishnou: Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy au pied de la colline, Panakala Narasimha Swamy et Gandala Narasimha Swamy sur la colline.

vijayawada

Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy

Selon la tradition hindoue, Mangalagiri est l’un des 8 temples « Mahakshetrams » ou temples les plus sacrés dédiés au dieu Vishnou. Les sept autres Mahakshetrams sont Srirangam, Srimushnam, Naimisam, Pushkaram, Salagamadri, Narayanasramam et Venkatadri (Tirupati)

Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy


Laissez un commentaire :)

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.

VOYAGEZ AVEC MOI !

Vijayawada, city of the goddess Kanaka

Located on the banks of the Krishna River, Vijayawada is a major trading and business centres in Andhra Pradesh. The city has very few monuments to see but it is a pleasant place to immerse yourself in the spiritual atmosphere of the famous Durga temple or to visit the beautiful rock-cut caves of Undavalli.

View of Vijayawada and suburb

Kanaka Durga Temple


Vijayawada
Path leading to Kanaka Durga temple

Kanaka Durga Temple is the most famous temple in Vijayawada and a high place of pilgrimage in Andhra Pradesh. It is located on the Indrakeeladri hill, on the banks of Krishna River.

Vijayawada
Kannada goddess

The presiding Deity is the goddess Kanaka Durga represented with eight arms, each holding a weapon, in a standing posture over the demon Mahishashura and piercing him with her trident. The vedas (ancient hindu scriptures) have described the deity as ‘Swayambhu’ or self-manifested.

A unique feature is that here Durga stands at the right side of Malleswara (her consort Shiva). Generally, in Hindu tradition Goddesses are on the left of their male consorts. This shows that the ‘Shakti’ or feminine energy is predominant in this temple.

Vijayawada
The golden gopuram of the main shrine | Photo : Srikar Kashyap 

Legend has it that the demons acquired great powers and began harassing the sages on the earth. Sage Keeladri, a shaktiya devotee, practiced severe penances, and when the goddess Kanaka Durga appeared, the sage pleaded Her to reside on his head and keep vigil on the wicked demons. Kanaka Durga asked Keeladri to take the form of hill to enable Her stay on him. Thus Keeladri became the abode of Durga.

Vijayawada
View of the Krishna River

She took the form of Mahisasura Mardini with eight arms holding different weapons, riding on a lion and trampling Mahishasura demon on the hill of Indrakeeladri freeing the people of Vijayawada from evil. As celestial beings like Indra visited the place, the hill came to be called Indrakeeladri.

Vijayawada
The banks of the Krishna River where pilgrims do their ablution

Undavalli Caves


Undavalli Caves

The beautiful Undavalli Caves are one of the finest example of Indian rock-cut architecture together with Ajanta, Ellora, Elephanta or Udayagiri. They are located in Undavalli of Guntur district, 6 km south west from Vijayawada.

Beautiful sculpture of Ganesha, the elephant-headed god, in the caves of Undavalli

These caves were carved out of solid sandstone on a hillside in the 4th to 7th centuries A.D.

There are several caves but the best known largest one has four stories with a huge statue of Vishnu in a reclining posture, sculpted from a single block of granite inside the second floor. The third floor is adorned with numerous beautiful sculptures, including lions and saints.

Reclining statue of the god Vishnu, carved from a single block of granite.

Initially the caves served as the Bhikkhu monastic complex.

Sculptures of lions and saints on the third floor of the main cave
The sculptures of the third floor from behind

Mangalagiri


View of the temples of Mangalagiri

Mangalagiri, the auspicious hill, 11km from Vijayawada is an interesting visit to do for its spiritual fervour. It is an important place of pilgrimage for Hindu devotees. This is the abode of Lord Vishnu, who manifested himself in the form of Thotadri. There are three Vishnu temples : Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy at the foot of the hill, Panakala Narasimha Swamy and Gandala Narasimha Swamy on the hill.

The Panakala Narasimha temple, at the top, on the hillside

According to Hindu tradition, Mangalagiri is one of the 8 important ‘Mahakshetrams’ or most sacred temples dedicated to god Vishnu. The seven other Mahakshetrams are Srirangam, Srimushnam, Naimisam, Pushkaram, Salagamadri, Narayanasramam and Venkatadri (Tirupati).

Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy temple at the foot of the hill
Entrance to Gandala Narasimha Swamy temple (photos are prohibited inside the temple)

2 Comments on “Vijayawada, city of the goddess Kanaka”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

TRAVEL WITH ME !